Current Location: Home >> Programs >> Marque Programs >>
IESC’s Marque Programs
Behind the birth of each program there is a journey filled with joy and pain: joy for the new creation and pain for all the challenges and complexities we must overcome in creating something new. The development of our programs takes three key ingredients: (1) team effort, (2) selecting appropriate resources, and (3) commitment to excellence.

As a team we are personally and professionally involved in the design and development of each program creation so we feel every program symbolizes a piece of our organization. Together, our programs are “food for the soul”, carrying our love for education. We select the best educational ideas and tools for program content and program delivery, and we draw upon faculty from leading universities and top practitioners who can turn concepts into practical application. Finally, at IESC we believe that service excellence is a full-time job. Our internal review process and constant feedback from our clients and participants ensures that everything we do in the design, development and delivery of education is subject to continuous improvement. 




Since 2008 IESC team has conducted professional development programs for various constituents including education officials, school principals, teachers, administrative staff, and students from China and the United States (majority of our participants). Prior to 2008 the company ran management and leadership training programs for various industries, including banking, IT, healthcare, heavy industrial, and consumer goods manufacturers. 

Almost every year (since 2008) we have introduced new programs and extended our professional development services, as our existing client base has grown bigger both in the United States and China.  




Birth of IESC Programs Since 2008: 

Education Leadership Program: When IESC’s board members (Edward Verlander and Sarah Wang) first visited China in 2007, many local students and parents sought their advice about studying abroad, driven by the new reality that China’s education industry was shifting as result of China’s economic development. People were looking for new ways to educate the future generations. Edward and Sarah experienced first-hand, the need for education reform in China. 

During that first visit, IESC’s management team formed the strong belief that the rapid growth in the Chinese education industry must be supported with new, value-added, professional services. At the same time, the West (i.e., US schools) should learn from the many good practices found in the Chinese education system. Policy makers, bureau officers, school principals, teachers, and students needed to explore and assess various school models used in the West and the East. By comparing and contrasting the strengths and weakness of each other’s education systems, new and more effective education policies and practices would emerge. As those discussions started, in the summer of 2008 IESC’s management team contracted with the Shenyang Education Bureau to design and deliver its first Education Leadership Program at Teachers College, Columbia University in the city of New York. It was IESC’s first initiative towards becoming a player in the China’s education reform effort by creating global collaboration.

Elite Teachers Program (US Program): In the autumn of 2009 a group of the New York State superintendents (from the Eastchester, Pelham, and Tuckahoe school districts) were looking to build global partnerships with Chinese school counterparts. They wanted to promote 21st Century learning by fostering cross-culture exchanges between China and the US so that teachers from both cultures could learn, grow, and exchange practices in education and learning methods. About the same time, Beijing New Oriental School had approached IESC to be their in-service professional development provider for their elite teachers. Given the two interests and desires, it made perfect sense for IESC to create a professional development program where teachers from both cultures could benefit from one program. Since then, Beijing New Oriental School has returned to the US every year to participate in professional development seminars and to meet teachers from New York (NY) schools to learn about and exchange professional practices. Participating schools from the US include: Eastchester School District (NY), Pelham School District (NY), Harrison School District (NY), Greenville School (NY), and Barack Obama Green Charter High School (NJ). The professional development seminars have been sponsored by the Penn Center for Educational Leadership of the University of Pennsylvania and Teachers College, Columbia University.

Columbia Youth Leadership Program: This program was officially launched in the summer of 2010 after pilot testing the idea for a year. The program was one of IESC’s early efforts to promote leadership development to youth. IESC wanted to bring Chinese and US youth together to learn about leadership and to create cultural exchange opportunities that would increase the global awareness of students. Today, the Columbia Youth Leadership Program is hosted at Teachers College, Columbia University. The program faculty applies various experiential learning methods and techniques to teach students critical thinking, aspects of reading and writing English, cross-cultural communication, and interpersonal skills. Each year IESC welcomes nearly 200 students from China and New York State schools to this program, promoting cultural awareness and global leadership perspectives. The Columbia Youth Leadership Program is one of the most popular programs at IESC.

China Studies Program: The idea of launching a China Studies Program (CSP) was first drafted in the winter of 2009 when Sarah visited China with the then Eastchester School District Superintendent, Dr. Marilyn Terranova (currently an IESC education consultant).  Sarah and Marilyn were looking for ways to offer educational opportunities to New York State students that would foster their learning about global awareness and in particular, China. After the initial conversations, a working team was formed and included Hong Kong-based Mr. Tim Parkinson (currently an IESC education consultant). The CSP was launched the following year (2010). The China Studies Program was initially offered to students from Eastchester High School and Pelham Memorial High School, and now enjoys a growing network of schools. Today, CSP is one of the most popular “study-abroad” experiences among participating US high school students. Starting in 2014 IESC plans to launch Chinese language teaching as part of the CSP learning experience.

Columbia Classroom Program: In fall of 2010, the Global Institute of Management and Economics (GIME) at the University of Finance and Economics in Dalian, China, approached IESC to help it with its advancement in international outreach in the US. After six months of discussion and planning, IESC signed a contract with GIME to launch its program for university students, called Columbia Classroom. 

The Columbia Classroom program serves undergraduate and graduate students who are interested in learning, in a cross-cultural setting, about the skills needed to be successful in US university classrooms. Guided by faculty from Columbia and using the experiential learning method, students learn about understanding, speaking, writing, researching, and presenting university-level work. The program is comprised of two key components: (1) in-class learning of models, skills, and knowledge needed before conducting (2) a field practicum. Students are required to combine their classroom learning with their real-world research. They conduct research, write reports, and make presentations to a panel of field experts who provide an evaluation, critique, and feedback of the student’s work. 

Elite Teachers Program (China Program): In September of 2013, sponsored by the Robert Lipp Family Foundation in New York and working in concert with the Xi’an Bureau of Education, IESC delivered a new professional development initiative for teachers — the Elite Teachers Program Capstone.

 

Over the last two years, IESC has examined the strengths and weaknesses of the education system in China and the United States. As a result, IESC and its clients decided that, working together, it was time to take on a new role as a driving force for change in China’s education reform by introducing leading-edge educational theories and practices from the US. With support from educational experts at Teachers College, Columbia University and the Xi’an education bureau, IESC used its own in-house experts to design, develop and deliver its capstone program for Xi’an’s top teachers. The program focused on the educational philosophy, methods, best practices, and techniques advocated in the West.  


With the extraordinary success of this program in Xi’an, IESC plans to increase the scope of the content covered in the program and the range of education bureaus serviced around the country in China. At the same time, IESC is planning to bring its experiences in the Chinese education system back to benefit teachers in the New York schools. In future Elite Teacher Programs, IESC will be working on enhancing the collaboration between the Chinese and US teachers so that they can learn from each other and adopt best practices from both systems. 


Home | Contact Us

Copyright © 2013 - 2014 International Education Services Corporation. All Rights Reserved.

Liaoning ICP 15015917. Technical Support:北京原创先锋 网站建设

English  中文
 
当前位置: 首页 >> 教育发展 >> 品牌项目 >>
品牌项目

         每一个项目诞生的背后都有着一段充满快乐和艰辛的旅程:创新的快乐,以及创造新事物所必须克服挑战与复杂的艰辛。项目的研发与三个因素密不可分:(1)团队共同努力(2)筛选优秀资源(3)承诺追求卓越。


        作为一个团队,我们用个人努力和专业能力,全身心地投入到每一个项目的研发中,也正因此,我们的每一个项目都代表着IESC组织的一部分。总而言之,项目是我们的精神食粮,承载着我们对教育行业深深的热爱。我们为项目内容和呈现方式精选最优秀的教育理念和教育方法,并集结知名大学和顶尖教育从业者将我们的理念付诸实践。在IESC,我们相信卓越的服务是毕生的追求。内部回顾总结和来自客户学员的持续反馈,确使我们的每一步设计、开发和实施都在不断改进的过程中。我们现有的项目架构如下图所示:



        自2008年以来,IESC团队开始开展专业发展培训项目,其客户群体包括来自中国和美国的教育官员、校长、老师、管理人员和学生。在2008年之前,公司为包括银行、IT、医疗保健、重工业和消费品制造商等众多领域提供管理和领导力培训项目。 


        基于我们现有中美客户群体的不断壮大,从2008年开始,几乎每年我们都推出新的项目并扩展我们的专业发展服务。 




2008年以来IESC项目的发展历程:

 

教育领导力项目:伴随着中国经济的快速发展,中国教育行业也开始突破传统发生转变;2007年,当IESC董事会成员(爱德华·伟蓝德和王千)第一次到访中国时,许多中国学生和家长都在迫切寻求到国外就读的信息资源。人们正在寻找新的方式来为下一代提供更好的教育。爱德华和王千亲身感受到了中国对于教育改革的强大需求。在第一次到访期间,IESC的管理团队形成了坚定的理念:快速发展中的中国教育行业需要创新、增值和更加专业服务的帮助。与此同时,西方(例如美国的学校)应学习和借鉴中国教育体系中许多优秀的实践方式。政策制定者、当局官员、校长、教师和学生都需要探索和评估东西方不同的学校模式。通过对比双方教育体系中的优缺点,创新的、更有效的教育政策和实施方式才会随之产生。2008年夏季,IESC管理团队同沈阳教育局合作,在纽约哥伦比亚大学教师学院设计并推出了第一个教育领导力项目。这是IESC通过国际合作首次参与到中国教育改革的进程中。


名校师资培训(海外培训):2009年秋季,纽约州的学校督学(来自伊彻斯特、佩勒姆和塔卡霍学区)都在寻找中国合作学校来建立国际伙伴关系。他们希望通过培养中美学校间的跨文化交流来推动21世纪的教学,来自不同文化教师可以相互学习、提高、在教育和教学方法的相互切磋。与此同时,北京新东方学校邀请IESC为其精英教师的在职专业发展提供培训。在双方供需吻合的情况下,IESC抓住了创建专业发展培训项目的最佳时机,设计了双方教师均能从中获益的名校师资培训项目。自此,北京新东方学校的教师每年都会到美国参加专业发展研讨会,并同来自纽约学校的教师会面共同学习交流专业实践方面的知识经验。来自美国的合作校包括:纽约伊彻斯特学区、纽约佩勒姆学区、纽约哈里森学区、纽约格林威尔学校和新泽西巴拉克奥巴马绿色特许高中。专业发展研讨会由宾夕法尼亚大学教育领导力中心和哥伦比亚大学教师学院主办。


哥伦比亚青少年领袖育成项目:经过一年对开发此项目的考察尝试,青少年领袖育成项目于2010年夏季正式推出。这个项目是IESC早期为促进青少年领导力开发所做出的努力之一。IESC希望通过中美青少年共同学习领导力和创造文化交流的机会来增进学生们的全球化意识。如今青少年领袖育成项目在哥伦比亚大学教师学院举办。项目培训师通过多种体验式学习方法和技能向学生教授批判性思维、英语读写方法、跨文化沟通和人际交往技能。每年IESC迎接来自中美各校的近200名学生参加项目,提升跨文化意识和推广全球领导力理念。哥伦比亚青少年领袖育成项目是IESC最热门的项目之一。


了解中国项目:了解中国项目(CSP的创始理念始于2009年冬,当时,王千和时任伊彻斯特学区督学的玛丽莲·泰罗诺娃博士(现为IESC教育咨询专家)到中国访问。王千和玛丽莲都在寻找合适的方式为纽约州的学生们提供教育契机,以培养他们的全球化意识(特别是对于中国的认识)。经过初步讨论,建立了工作团队,包括在香港工作的蒂莫·帕金森先生(现为IESC教育咨询专家)。CSP项目于2010年正式启动。CSP项目最初的合作校为伊彻斯特高中和佩勒姆纪念高中,如今我们的合作队伍正在逐步扩大。今天的CSP已然成为美国合作校的学生间最津津乐道的海外学习交流话题。IESC计划从2014年开始将汉语教学加入到CSP项目中,增加学员多层次的项目体验。


哥大海外课堂项目:2010年秋季,中国大连东北财经大学跨境教育中心(GIME联系IESC寻求帮助以开展其国际教育合作,特别是与美国教育机构的合作。历经半年的研讨和筹划,IESCGIME签署协议开展学生项目,名为“哥大海外课堂项目”。

        哥大海外课堂项目为有兴趣在跨文化环境中学习的本科及研究生,提供如何在美国大学课堂中取得优异成绩的技能。通过哥大培训教授的指导和体验式学习方法的应用,学生们将学会理解、表述、写作、研究并演示具有大学学术水平的任务。该项目由两个关键部分组成:(1)课堂学习的模型、技能和知识,然后进行(2)实地演习。学生们需要整合课堂所学到实际应用中。他们将在项目中开展研究、撰写报告并做出演示,项目专家评审团则会对他们的表现作出评价、提出反馈和建议。 


名校师资培训(国内培训):2013年9月,受纽约罗伯特·利普家族基金会支持和西安教育局的邀请,IESC为西安中小学的教师们开展了一项全新的专业技能培训项目—名校师资培训。

     在过去的两年中,IESC团队测评研究了中美教育体系的优缺点。由此,IESC与其客户群体一致决定,是时候共同协作,通过引进美国前沿教育理论和实践,承担新的角色作为中国教育体系改革的主要推动力。得到哥伦比亚大学教师学院和西安教育局的支持,IESC运用组织内专家资源为西安精英教师设计、研发并实施了这个具有重大意义的培训项目。项目培训内容着眼于教育理论、方法、最佳实践以及西方教学中倡导的技术应用。 

        IESC此次在西安开展的师资培训项目取得了巨大的成功,因此计划为国内更多教育部门提供此培训并丰富培训所涵盖的内容范围。与此同时,IESC计划将在中国教育体系中获取的丰富经验带回纽约各校使教师受益。名校师资培训项目未来的发展方向是加强中美教师间的合作交流使双方能够相互学习和采纳对方体系中的的优秀实践方法。 


返回首页 | 联系我们

Copyright © 2013 - 2014 IESC. All Rights Reserved.

版权所有:沈阳伟蓝德教育发展咨询有限公司

辽ICP备15015917号 技术支持:北京网站建设 原创先锋